WHEN SMILE FADES (Part 2)

Based on a real-life storycontinued from part 1

Kate, who was a new convert, could see Chidi was heartbroken, bitter and disappointed at God, I do not have any words to say to you, she said, you can’t imagine he disappointed you after so many prayers, after relying on his promises. I see you as the Job of our time, tested and tried, I see you as someone that has denied and cursed God because he took your children from you. I can boldly say seeing your love and passion for God was what motivated me to know God more and become a born again, I want to see that vibrant, ever-smiling man again, who loves God.

Kate, I wish I could smile again, Chidi said, I am not the same; I buried my three children just six months ago, where do I start from, you know Kate, when the white men brought the gospel, I am sure they never told our forefathers that there would be challenges that would shake their faith to the point of abandoning God because being an African man if they had told them, our forefathers would have stayed with their gods.

Why do you speak as one who has not encountered God, Segun Interrupted, why do you speak like one who has not known or experienced his wonders? Segun could not understand his friend, as he was the most fervent of the five of them, Chidi please listen to us, we do not want your soul to perish; it was difficult for Job, but he overcame at the end.

Chidi already uncomfortable, with the way Segun was speaking the scripture, snapped, don’t tell me of the scriptures, don’t even remind me of his words, I know them, even by heart, and I once believed in them. I am not Job, Job could handle it, but I am Chidi, I am a father who loved his children, why then could a loving Father take away mine, and could not spare at least one.

Lade has been quiet as he listened to everyone, Chidi he said, the Lord gives, the Lord takes blessed be his holy name. Oh no! Lade, no, no, I disagree, he that gives should not take back what he gave, the room became quiet, every one had his/her thought but held back has Chidi was ready to defend himself against God.

He should learn to keep his promises, Chidi broke the silence, he promised life instead of death, have you forgotten, the verse in Psalms that says I shall not die? Oh my God!, honey, please, Yetunde cried, please, I was their mother too; I carried them for nine months; I nursed them; I am hurt too, please don’t deny God now.

They had spent hours discussing, and it was getting late. As they started preparing to take their leave the doorbell rang, Kate went to open, and it was Mrs. Balogun and her four years old, daughter. Kate led them into the sitting room, I am sorry Mr. and Mrs. Okeke to come without prior notice, no problem Yetunde said as she greeted her, yes, it’s no problem Chidi affirmed, so what brings you and your beautiful daughter to my home he said smiling at Mrs. Balogun’s daughter.

Mrs. Balogun had a long stare at Chidi and his wife, then at everyone in the room, I don’t know how to start as I have been having this nudge since last week to come to visit you; I received a word of wisdom for you while praying.

What will Mrs. Balogun tell them?, what could be the word of wisdom?, will Chidi love God again to serve Him as before?, Watch out for the final part next week as the story will answer these questions and more.

Published by Jolaade Olatunbosun

My name is Jolaade Olatunbosun, I am a Lover of Christ and I express the Love of Christ through writing. Graduate of Geography from Lagos State University, I hold a master's degree in Geographic Information System from the University of Ibadan and also Geography ( Resources Analysis Options) from the University of Lagos. I am passionate about Global Goals and especially Goals 1,4,7,8 and 13. I am a Geographer, writer, content creator and a Volunteer

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started