FREED FROM GUILT

The hole was deep in my heart and I didn’t need comforting, I just wanted to be on my own, not that I had any other person to run to, it was as if life had left me hanging; it shattered me from within. The book of life opened in front of me like a certificate that could not be altered. The black prints on the white note were like a stain on my garment. I fell on my knees with my face to the floor, filled with guilt as darkness enveloped me. The guilt weighed down on me so much that I felt like a sinner. Convinced that I was a rejected sinner, I thought only of an avenue to run away from my past.

With all these thoughts came tears flowing freely down my face and questions. I had so many questions flooding my mind, but not as many answers. What happened? How did it happen? What have I done to fall out of grace? How did I get myself into this mess? I confess my sins each time I fail, yet I still go back to them, crying out, who will deliver me from this flesh?. I am a backslider who needed redemption and a second chance. I tried to pray, but I was too ashamed of my sins and could not even open my mouth to confess. I just kept crying until I realized something had to be done. I mustered all the courage left in me and said words that could only pass as prayers, but what I did was to confess all my sins sincerely from my heart. What joy and peace I felt afterward.

Photo by Jill Wellington on Pexels.com

I knew right there I was not the same person I was a few minutes before; I felt peace all over. I opened my eyes and saw a cross before me with bloodstains all over it. An angel appeared and said, his atoning blood washed away your sins, it washes you from your guilt and has made you whole. He then stretched forth his hands, and I saw a white garment. His voice came out very distinct and clear. You are clean, sin no more. Immediately he said it. The cross glowed brightly so much that I had to bow down my face to the ground. Some seconds later, I stood up and felt new like a new baby. He gave me back my joy and freed me from the shackles of guilt.

What position do you find yourself in that has kept you downcast? What is that worry, or guilt, or depression that has held you bound? What addiction of the flesh do you keep struggling with to get yourself disentangled? What are those things that seem insurmountable? Look to the cross for redemption and he will receive and forgive you. He came to save you because he loves you.

Published by Jolaade Olatunbosun

My name is Jolaade Olatunbosun, I am a Lover of Christ and I express the Love of Christ through writing. Graduate of Geography from Lagos State University, I hold a master's degree in Geographic Information System from the University of Ibadan and also Geography ( Resources Analysis Options) from the University of Lagos. I am passionate about Global Goals and especially Goals 1,4,7,8 and 13. I am a Geographer, writer, content creator and a Volunteer

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started